Lodhran NA-154 By Elections

Lodhran NA-154 BY Elections

According to latest results of 330 Polling Stations, Pakistan Muslim League N Candidate Iqbal Shah is ahead with 110993 votes. Pakistan Tahreek e Insaf Candidate Ali Khan Tareen is far behind with 84712 votes. Now it is very clear that Pakistan Muslim League N Candidate Iqbal Shah will win the seat of NA 154 with clear margin.

Also Read: Child Sexual Harrasment Stats Laws And Recomendations

Polling for NA 154 constituency (Lodhran) by-elections has been started today since 8 am and will continue till 5 pm.

Also Read: Sudden Rise Of Dollar In Pakistan

PTI Former Secretary General Mr. Jahangir Tareen had been disqualified in December 2017 By Supreme Court of Pakistan. After that Election commission of Pakistan has announced the By- Elections in the Constituency on 12 February 2018. The huge element of the interest in this by-election is related to the history of this constituency since May 2013 to Dec 2015 till to-date.  The constituency has been experiencing the by-election the second time since 2013.

In the general election of 2013, M Siddique Khan Baloch won as an independent candidate by securing 86,177 votes after beating PTI’s Jahangir Tareen (Second) and PMLN’s Syed Muhammad Rafi-Ud-Din Bokhari (Third).

After various rigging allegations, the election tribunal has nullified the results of 2013 elections. The first by-election was held on 23 Dec 2015 and has won by PTI’s Tareen with a margin of 38786 votes from PMLN’s Baloch. Tareen won this seat with 138719 votes. Surprisingly Ruler Party lost the election even though the former Prime Minister Of Pakistan Mian Nawaz Sharif had announced the special package for Lodhran before the elections. A new turn has been taken in the history of NA 154 when PTI’s Tareen was disqualified by Supreme Court of Pakistan on 15 Dec 2017 for non-declaration of his assets.

By-election was announced later. PTI has nominated Ali Tareen, son of Jahangir Tareen as MNA candidate for this election. Iqbal Shah of PMLN, Ali baig of PPP and seven others independent candidates are also contesting.

As per ECP, 328 polling stations have been set up in the constituency of NA 154 for 431,002 registered voters. Pak army soldiers are present since morning at all the polling booths to ensure the safety and to avoid any irregularity.

PMLN has not shown too much interest in this election. But masses are expecting a close battle between PTI’s and PMLN’s candidate. “He who has the support of the masses wins the election,” said by Jahangir Tareen today.

A low turn is being expected today. Yet everyone is waiting for the results to know the name of the conqueror.

%d bloggers like this: