Achievements Of Pakistan Cricket Team In 2018

Saman Arif


Pakistan and cricket are kinds of synonyms because the love for cricket among Pakistani’s is beyond boundaries. Cricket is all we have for entertainment. After the attack on Sri Lanka players in 2009, Pakistan’s new generation lost something. International cricket left Pakistan. The passion for cricket didn’t end still. Cricket is the game in which we can’t expect anything at any time because this game changes on a single ball. 2016 T20 world cup is such an example when Carlos Braithwaite hit consecutive 4 sixes on 4 balls to Ben Stokes and stole the World Cup from England in last over and thus West Indies win. Another breathtaking moment was when Javaid Miandad hit 6 on the last ball of Asia cup and won it for the first time for Pakistan. Cricket is a game to play with emotions and teach us to take the decision on the spot.

Coming on the activities of Pakistan cricket team during this year. In January Pakistan had a tour to New Zealand for T20 and Test series. Pakistan won the T20 series by 2-1. Fakhar, Babar fifties keep series alive. Pakistan’s best batting performance of the tour helped them end New Zealand’s 13-match winning streak against them. Winning Captain Sarfraz Ahmed said “Credit goes to our openers Fakhar and Shehzad. They did the job. Kane Williamson, the losing captain. He said: “Pakistan was excellent in all departments, and we were poor in all departments. When you catch Pakistan when they’re on fire, this is the result we get.  PSL came to Pakistan in March. Later in April West Indies visited Pakistan for 3 T20I series and Pakistan won by 3-0. This was the comeback of cricket to Karachi. We Pakistanis are the lover of Cricket and we all want Cricket back. On July 2018 Pakistan had 5 ODI series with Zimbabwe. Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam tons help Pakistan rout Zimbabwe 5-0. Zimbabwe never really looked to be in pursuit of Pakistan’s 364; they eventually batted out the 50 overs for the loss of four wickets. Fakhar Zaman scored 513 runs in 5 matches. He set a world record of scoring fastest 1000 runs in 18 innings. The 2018 Zimbabwe Tri-Nation Series was a cricket tournament held from 1 to 8 July 2018 in Zimbabwe. It was a tri-nation series between Australia, Pakistan and Zimbabwe, with all the matches played as Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) at the Harare Sports Club. In the fourth20I, Pakistan beat Zimbabwe by seven wickets, therefore Australia and Pakistan qualified for the final. Pakistan defeated Australia in the final by six wickets to win the series. In October 2018 Pakistan had a test match series with Australia and Pakistan won by 1-0. The 28-year old became the first fast bowler to record a ten-wicket haul in the UAE as Pakistan sealed an emphatic 373-run win. Man of the match was Muhammad Abbas for his 10-wicket haul. He also won the series award. What a series he had. He richly deserved it.

Later Pakistan belated New Zealand in 3 matches T20 series (3-0)and set a world record by winning stream of 11 matches and second record by winning seven T20I series. Man of series was Muhammad Hafeez. Babar Azam put world record of scoring fastest 1000 run in 26 innings in T20. He became No.1 T20 batsman. He belated the record of Indian cricketer Virat Kholi. After this series, Pakistan retained its first position in T20I’s. Later Pakistan had an ODI series with New Zealand in UAE. 3 match series was drawn by 1-1. In November Pakistan had a 3 match Test series against New Zealand. Unfortunately, Pak was vested by 2-1. In this series, Babar Azam scored his first century in a Test career. In 2nd match, Yasir Shah took 14 wickets and equalized the record of our previous captain Imran Khan. Yasir Shah won the record of fastest 200 wickets in only 33 matches and improved his test ranking from 20th to 10th position. He took 29 wickets overall in that series. Later Muhammad Hafeez took retirement from Test cricket. From 26th of December, Pakistan has a tour to Africa. May they have a lot of successful events ahead?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: